• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New User Needs Help Please

Share/Bookmark

New User Needs Help Please

Hello,

I am brand new to GPO and have some basic questions. (I've read the manual already.)

1. I have a Korg Triton as my controller. It's "mod wheel" is actually a joystick that spring-returns to the center position. What do other Triton owners do about this?

2. I use Cubase as my sequencer. Is it possible to take a pre-existing midi track, assign it to a GPO instrument and "play in" the articulations without otherwise changing the track? I tried but my use of the Mod Wheel and Pedal didn't seem to get recorded.

3. I tried loading in a pre-existing Cubase midi, assigning different instances of the GPO Vsti to different tracks. But when I tried to play back the midi, I couldn't hear the GPO instruments until I switched them all to Midi Channel #1. What am I doing wrong?

Thank You!

Re: New User Needs Help Please

hmmm...
    I'm new to GPO and in the same boat, getting my old pieces into GPO.
    In the Cubase SX family, you certainly can 'play in' mod wheel data. Just select the track and record. I've done it and it works fine. Also you can draw mod data in the controller lane (and sustain data etc)

I'm not sure about the midi channel thing. My head hurts when I think about VST channels versus midi channels. I'm not even sure what a midi channel is! But I think the first instrument on a multi is on channel 1, the second on 2 etc. So you can set up your midi tracks in cubase to play whichever instrument you want. You can send each instrumet to a separate VST channel too.
    "A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules,often with the assistence of unsuspecting musicians"

Talking Re: New User Needs Help Please

Hi, jazmaan!