• Register
  • Help

Topic: Heartland

Share/Bookmark

Heartland

Finally got some web space to use for posting. Here's Heartland. Thanks to Gary & Jerry W. for some helpful comments they gave me.

http://home.mchsi.com/~jeffturner/heartland.mp3

Jeff

Re: Heartland

The composition is great. The only thing I'd say is that the strings stand out in the mix more than they should in places (read, they aren't as warm as I'd like, but that's a personal opinion.) The winds sound great in your hands and I like the crescendo near the end.

Joseph,

Thanks for your comments. The strings also seemed a little harsh to me. I'm new at this engineering aspect of this process, how do I add "warmth" to the strings. I used the sus/short section samples. Would "lush" strings have more warmth? Or a combination of both? Or is it all done in EQ? Should certain frequencies be raised or lowered to add warmth? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Jeff

QUOTE=Jeff Turner]Joseph,

Thanks for your comments. The strings also seemed a little harsh to me. I'm new at this engineering aspect of this process, how do I add "warmth" to the strings. I used the sus/short section samples. Would "lush" strings have more warmth? Or a combination of both? Or is it all done in EQ? Should certain frequencies be raised or lowered to add warmth? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Jeff[/QUOTE]
    Hi jeff. I liked this work