• Register
  • Help

Topic: new flute piece

Share/Bookmark

new flute piece

Hey all,

I just finished a solo flute piece for one of my theory students. Thought you might like to hear. File is ~2.5MB. It's called Dorian Blossom.

All types of comments are welcome. It was done in Sibelius 2.11 with GPO solo Flute w/ Vibrato. Sometimes you can't hear the grace notes. If anyone has some tips on fixing that I'd appreciate it.

http://users.adelphia.net/~chads/mus...an_Blossom.mp3

Cheers,
    Chad

Thumbs up Re: new flute piece

Wow, nice work sound live.
    First let me get this straight and forgive me I am still quite new at all of this software. Sibelius is a notational software and sequencer?
    Well, this is certainly a class A flute solo. I was very impressed how you accomplished such articulations in the faster passages. These are written in a score first then played back or did you play them in as is?
    I'll end with a wow. Some really nice music coming out of this forum's members.
    Styxx

Re: new flute piece

Thanks for the kind words Sal. Sibleius is just notation software - no sequencer. I'm a real hack on piano so, none of it is played in (bass players! sheeesh). It's all straight from Sibelius using the plug-in's for legato and cresc./dim. Reverb was Recital Hall 1 in stock form with just tweaks to the wet/dry mix. Now, if I could just get somebody to make an accurate MIDI tracking device for electric bass...

-Chad

Cool piece, CString. Regarding grace notes: if Sibelius is like Finale, the default note durations are at 100%. Sometimes, when the notes are all at 100% total duration, some may not sound. When this happens, I lessen the duration of the note before it to 95%. Hope that helps.

Another thing that I do to the solo winds is increase the polyphony to 2. It helps make the legato lines like buttah...