• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Finally Finished (sort of)

Share/Bookmark

Finally Finished (sort of)

(on 7/14 I changed the link to version that is slightly cleaner in some spots)
    (edited again on 6/24/2004 to add link to Gary's version with larger hall)

I’ve been pretty busy and haven’t stopped by for a while. Anyway, below is a link to part of what made me so busy – the link goes to the (almost) complete first movement of St. George and the Dragon.

A few things to notice-

I said “almost”. I’m still going to go back in, clean up performances, improve dynamics, change some parts, maybe change whole sections, etc.

I also said “first movement”. I have at least some material written for three more movements. One reason I point this out is because of the title – most people are looking for a climatic battle between good and evil. If one happens, it will be in the fourth movement.

This is my first attempt at orchestration. You can most likely tell. I used this to do some experimentation. If you wonder why I used a weird combination, now you know.

As a first orchestration I am looking more for composition and arrangement, not performance or recording (at least not at this point).

Anyway, any comments (or kicks in the shin for being foolish enough to attempt something like this for a first try) are welcome and appreciated.

http://trentsworld.com/music/posting...-6-14-2004.mp3

Later in the thread Gary posted a link to version where he ran it through a reverb with a 1400 seat hall - here is a link near the top -
    http://www.garritan.com/mp3/trent-st-george.mp3

St. George and the Dragon Copyright Trent McDonald 2004. Recorded with GPO

Re: Finally Finished (sort of)

Quote Originally Posted by trentpmcd

any comments (or kicks in the shin for being foolish enough to attempt something like this for a first try) are welcome and appreciated.
    Trent,