• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Joyful Waltz for string orchestra

Share/Bookmark

Joyful Waltz for string orchestra

Hello everybody,
    for me the waltz is the natural dance rhythm. I have strived for a dancing tune a long time now and this is my first attempt. I used strings only, violin 1 and 2, viola, cello and pizzicato bass.
    The rhythm is not continuous, there are variations. Would that cause problems for dancers?
    Please feel free to comment, always appreciated.
    Greetings,
    Kjell
    https://soundcloud.com/user-892939153/joyful-waltz

Re: Joyful Waltz for string orchestra

Hi Kjell,

It's an interesting work.

I've listened a few times and it starts to grow on one with every listen.

Good themes and interplay.

Although you named it joyful, I hear an underlined sadness...
    Nostalgia perhaps?

Thanks for posting.

~ Yudit ~

Quote Originally Posted by sunbird View Post
    Hi Kjell,

It's an interesting work.

I've listened a few times and it starts to grow on one with every listen.

Good themes and interplay.

Although you named it joyful, I hear an underlined sadness...
    Nostalgia perhaps?

Thanks for posting.

~ Yudit ~
    Thanks for your comment, Yudit. Yes, emotional impressions of music are individual. I tend to find minor keys joyful now and then, I don't know why, maybe contrasts appeal to me.
    Kjell

Hi Kjell,

Nice to hear some more work from you. Your Waltz seems more like a ballet wals to me, but it is a good one, nicely built up. The rendition is also of good quality. That makes the entire piece very 'listenable' and enjoyable. To make the dancing character more obvious, I would make the basses more prominent (not so much pizz., but rather a short distinct detache).

As a whole, you gave us a wonderful composition.

Congratulations and thanks for sharing it!!
    Jos
    Jos Wylin

http://www.joswyl.be compositions and sampling practices

Quote Originally Posted by Max Hamburg View Post
    Hi Kjell,