• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Memory usage and GPO

Share/Bookmark

Memory usage and GPO

I am new to GPO, but do allready have GOS and VSL.
    I do use GPO on a Pentium 4/ 2000Mgh /1GB RAM. After loading 5 instances of GPO-Kontakt in Cubase with 5 different multis - by far not a full modern orchestra - my computer does give the message that memory is getting tight. The task manager says that about 100 mb are still free. is this normal? I thought I would be able to load about the whole GPO in 1 Gga RAM? If I put more RAM will this resolve the problem and will my CPU be able to managage it.

Re: Memory usage and GPO

Since the libaryfiles together uses 1.81Gb on my harddrive, i would say it is impossible to fit all into 1Gb of ram. And so it is in reality too.

I use one solo and one overlay for each of the brass-sections. And it works ok for me.

What instruments are in the multis?

I normally like to add just the instruments I need as it saves memory. Also, use instruments that share wave pools in the same instance (ensemble instruments built from solo instruments). How much memory is Cubase using before you load any instances and instruments in? I\'ve had 8 instances with them loaded inside of Sonar. Sonar may be more memory efficient.

I remember reading in the marketing materials that you can load *the* entire orchestra into a 1 GB computer. I think the correct wording would have been that you can load *an* entire orchestra. Maybe when DFD is working we can load *the* entire orchestra in our 1GB machines.

I\'m not complaining. I read about what to expect on NS well before I purchased.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by JonFairhurst:
    [QB] I remember reading in the marketing materials that you can load *the* entire orchestra into a 1 GB computer. I think the correct wording would have been that you can load *an* entire orchestra. Maybe when DFD is working we can load *the* entire orchestra in our 1GB machines.