• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Using various programs.

Share/Bookmark

Using various programs.

In the original Star Trek TV show, the character of Bones said, "I'm a doctor, damn it, not an engineer." I am feeling the same conflict: "I'm a composer, damn it, not a computer programmer."

I have been using Finale notation software for several years and like it a lot. I have all of the Garritan libraries and use them within Finale. But I am repeatedly told that I need to use DAW to make my computer music sound better.

I just received EWQL Symphonic Choirs with Wordbuilder as a gift. It installed nicely and the Wordbuilder is a pleasure to work with.

I also have Kontakt 5 with "Factory Library" and "Retro Machines" - all work great together.

And I have Cubase Studio 5.

All my composing is done by point-and-click.

But -

My goal is to compose the music in Finale and load it as midi into Cubase5 where I can assign the instruments including Garritan and EWSC to the various staves, thus to improve the final product. I have no idea where or if Kontakt fits into the picture.

After nearly 3 months I have come to the realization that I simply do not how to do it.

I have literally spent months watching tutorials, participating in forums, reading manuals and conversing with the publishers of the software. So far all I have found is an endless dialogue of terms and procedures that make absolutely no sense to me; and lists of files and folders to put them in that I cannot find.

Can anyone direct me to an individual, a tutorial or a manual that in plain English, step-by-step, will tell me how in the world to use all this wonderful software together to create a piece of music?

Tom

Re: Using various programs.