• Register
  • Help

Topic: Help with Garritan Harps

Share/Bookmark

Help with Garritan Harps

I write almost exclusively for the harp. I have been using Finale for over 10 years, now up to Finale 2012. I had no trouble installing Garritan Harps and use it with Aria Player. But I am having difficulty understanding how to use Garritan Harps within the context of Finale. I've searched online, looked at the manual, and am generally baffled. I can load a harp sound (Lyon and Healy or Salvi, for example), and my Finale Notation will use that harp sound throughout the piece. But at certain measures, I want to be able to change the sound (go from sustained pluck to pres de la table, for instance, and I have no clue how to do this. Also, much of the sample sound clips that I have heard sound much more authentic than what I am able to generate.

If someone reading this has expertise in Garritan Harps, could you please contact me?

Thanks, Meg

Re: Help with Garritan Harps

Meg,

The demos on the site are usually done within sequencer programs instead of using a notation program. This allows more control over the final sound.

Below is a document from MakeMusic's site for changing articulations with keyswitched instruments.

While using Garritan instruments for playback, you can add a keyswitch at any point to change the instrument sound, for example, from arco to Pizzicato. A Keyswitch is simply a regular note outside the range of the instrument that triggers this change. For a list of Keyswitch mappings, see Garritan Finale Edition Instrument Details.

If Human Playback is enabled, text (such as “arco,” “pizz,” etc.) is interpreted and keyswitches are added automatically.
    If you are not using HP, choose from a list of keyswitch expressions available by default in the Expression Selection dialog box to add these effects.