• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: OT: Composers, do you use SMPTE or digitize?

Share/Bookmark

OT: Composers, do you use SMPTE or digitize?

Hi, sorry to be a little bit off track, but as a new composer I had a couple of questions... [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Question 1) Do you guys (and girls!) out there think it necessary to run a SMPTE set-up to lock picture to sound these days or can we composers use more modern methods? i.e. Capturing the video content onto the hard drive, playing it back in Quicktime (or something similiar), and composing to the digital footage. (Cubase SX lets you import picture right into the project for example)

Question 2) If the above option of digitizing is viable, how do we advise the editor of the start and end times of the cues?

Thanks, Scott.

P.S. Hi from Australia. You guys are all probably sleeping now. By the time you reply I will be sleeping. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Re: OT: Composers, do you use SMPTE or digitize?

Hello,

I prefer digitized with a SMPTE window burn. No shuttle of tape & locked instantly.

PS

Better not let \"Lewis\" see this thread... [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img]

Hi Chris, thanks for your reply. Sorry to sound dumb but could you explain that further?

Are you saying that you \"burn\" a SMPTE time-code onto the digitized footage? Is there special software for this?

Thanks again, Scott.

Analog tape syncing sucks if you ask me! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Digitize everything, into computer or onto some digital external video player. And window burn is the solution for communication with the rest, indeed...

Maarten

Hey Scott,

Usually the video comes from the film makers with SMPTE burned onto a window that is seen during playback. Then the video is \"captured\" to whichever format you want...avi, quicktime etc. When you playback the file on your DAW the SMPTE window is always there giving you precise numbering for your cues.

Chris