• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: A bunch of questions

Share/Bookmark

A bunch of questions

I\'m not sure where to post this one...there doesn\'t seem to be a general giga discussion forum. Anyhow...

Hello all. I\'m new to the forum. I don\'t yet own giga anything but am seriously consideringing getting into it. I have been a professional/amateur composer for close to ten years now. I primarily have just used .sf2 sounds for soundblasters to do my midi work, but they just don\'t quite live up.

So, *deep breath*, here goes:

1. I\'m looking into just getting gigastudio 32. I don\'t need a whole bunch of sounds at this point, and figure I can upgrade later if I really need to. Any advice against this?

2. I had some guy at a Guitar Center store tell me that you have to have 2 computers to run gigastudio -- one for the program and one to stream sounds from. I have a hard time believing this. With todays computers...I don\'t know. That just sounds silly to me.

I have a Pentium 4, 2.26 ghz with a 60gig hd and 128m of ram. (With a SoundBlaster Audigy Platinum soundcard.) Will my system suffice? Will I have sound glitches or other problems?

3. Are there any good brass samples out there? And I mean good...not just good compared to other midi brass. Why is it that every demo I\'ve heard from giga sounds great until the brass comes in? Then it sounds like a computer trying to fake it!!! Aarrgghh. I would die for a good orchestral trumpet sound!!

Hmmm, I guess that\'s it question wise for now. I\'m sure I\'ll have more.

Any help you can give me would be very appreciated. Thanks so much.

Re: A bunch of questions

Loads of people (including me) are happy with the SAM horns. You should check it out. It should put an end to your bad experience with midi brass (at least horns) - and the good news is that Maarten is working on SAM trombones and the SAM trumpets are for free!

Check out his page at http://www.projectsam.com

Thomas