• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Working with a program like the Vienna MIR Pro to create convincing mixes

Share/Bookmark

Working with a program like the Vienna MIR Pro to create convincing mixes

Hi -

I consider myself (much) more of a composer than a sound engineer. Although I'll write the occasional progressive-rock instrumental, for the past several years (when I have the time) I've been focusing my writing towards orchestral compositions. My understanding of sound-engineer is mostly self-taught, either working with a friend who knows what he's doing or by reading posts from bulletin boards like this one. Well, I'm never going to be a sound engineer. It is an art all by itself. Whenever I do write and sequence an orchestral composition, i find myself spending too much time on instrument placement, reverb and mixing it all together so that the sound mimics an orchestra recorded in a hall. Despite the efforts, I can create an "OK" mix. It's just OK. But it's no where near the sound that's created by someone with the chops and knowledge to properly mix everything all together. I guess I give up. I'm never going to be a hot sound engineer and I can live with that reality. I'd rather put my time and energy writing the music (when I make the time to write music).