• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: PMI BOS 6db gain

Share/Bookmark

PMI BOS 6db gain

The manual says that a 6 db gain is added to pmi samples, which means vel above 112 and below 14 will have no effect.....

So EXACTLY HOW do you turn the 6 db boost off, to get the full vel range out of the instrument. The WIZARD tool isn\'t exactly obvious!

Many regards to anyone who can advise this inveterate techno-peasant how to do this!!!!

(Great sample, BTW, for anyone who hasn\'t tried it.)
    JG
    http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/42/john_lewis_grant.html

Re: PMI BOS 6db gain

By the way, John, (and sorry for the OT), please let me know where you will be transferring your music at mp3.com now that it\'s closing down. I really like your music and I know I could just rip them off the mp3.com site, but as a fellow musician, I wouldn\'t want to do that. I just want to listen to your music every now and then.

Nhick
    http://nhick.com

By the way, thanks too, Bruce, for that detailed answer. I\'ve been wondering about that too.

Nhick

Thanks Bruce. Oddly, for a number of the samples in the pmi bos, the wizard shows a 6 db \"boost\" (it\'s checked off) while the mix\\layer window shows a big fat \"0\"!!! I\'m such a t-peasant that I can\'t reconcile this apparent inconsistency. Probably it just isn\'t one, and I don\'t know what I\'m at! It only troubles me because Michael says that a 6 db boost SHOULD be there, and in one place (the wizard) I\'m seeing it, and in another (the mix/layer window) I\'m not! Maybe Michael will chime in here and help me out. I SHOULD email him!