PDA

View Full Version : Steinway Pro lost hard drive



gwhizofto
01-19-2010, 05:07 PM
HI,

I installed Steinway pro on Win XP, and put the samples on a separate internal hard drive ('G' drive). That hard drive (or the mobo slot, not sure which) failed, so for now it is just unplugged it in the computer's rack. Now when I try to load the sounds in the player, there are errors, because the samples (and path to them) are no longer there. So the big question is, what's the easiest/best way to get back up running with the package?
FYI I've mostly been using the samples from inside Finale 2009, with the Steinway player.

Is there a way to put the samples on a network path (I have a raid file server and would like to put them there) without re-installing the whole package?

Thanks!
Kind Regards,
Michael

DPDAN
01-19-2010, 06:17 PM
Hi Michael,
you said you don't want to have to re-install the whole package,,,
but the samples are on your bad hard drive, and that is the bulk of the Steinway, so you will have to install them again. If the hard drive was not bad, and all you wanted to do was move the samples you could choose "move", regardless, manipulating where the samples are is easy with the "Steinway Sample Manager"

I know you are on a Windows machine, but this is from my Mac, it shows the icon you want to look for next to Steinway Sample Manager.

http://www.dankury.com/temp/sample_manager.png

This "Steinway Sample Manager" should be located in your Steinway folder where you have the Steinway software (not samples) installed. You can choose un-install, then install the perspectives (Pro Version) to the location of your choice.

Dan

gwhizofto
01-20-2010, 12:10 AM
Dan, thanks for the suggestion. I found the sample manager and ran it. It immediately gave an error dialogue:

Installation corrupted (Classic)
one or more folder is missing.
Status will be set to NotInstalled. You will have to delete the files manually.
If you have moved the files manually, please select the locate option.

From this error, it sounds as if it checked for the samples and couldn't find them, which might be OK. Setting status to NotInstalled doesn't mean anything to me, I don't know why it is telling me that.

Saying 'you will have to delete the files manually" is not at all helpful, as I don't know what files it is refering to!

More help please ;^)

Michael

gwhizofto
01-20-2010, 12:16 AM
Just a followup, after going ahead with the error dialogue (one for each of 'Lid', player, stage, etc) The install dialogue appeared. I asked it to use a network folder to do the install, and it gave the error

\\tera\t\....(my folder name) is not accessible.

Is there a restriction that we cannot install the samples on a network drive?

Kind Regards,
Michael

DPDAN
01-20-2010, 01:23 AM
I'm sorry but I don't know the answers to your questions.
Jeff Hurchalla is going to have to help you further...
I will email him and ask him to come here and help you.

Dan

gwhizofto
01-23-2010, 12:47 AM
Who is Jeff? Is his contact info available? Is this something Garritan could support, since it seems to be something not covered by the manual or FAQ, nor known at the Forum?

Best Regards,
Michael

DPDAN
01-23-2010, 01:05 AM
Hi Michael,
Jeff Hurchalla is Gary Garritan's right hand man :)

Jeff is the one that did all the editing and a lot of the design of the Garritan Steinway.

Click on this link and send him a (PM) personal message.

He is a great guy!
Dan

http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/private.php?do=newpm&u=1616

gwhizofto
01-24-2010, 06:44 PM
Hi Dan,

I sent Jeff a PM using the link you provided. So far no reponse. Is there a way to contact him or Garritan? So far it's been a while since I tried the forum with no luck.

Kind Regards,
Michael

DPDAN
01-25-2010, 12:52 AM
Hi Michael,
he should be here to help you get sorted out shortly :)
Dan

pascalM
01-25-2010, 10:07 AM
Hi Micheal,
if you want to install the samples on your network drive, you will have to map this drive then select the mapped drive from Sample Manager.

Jeff Hurchalla
01-25-2010, 11:23 AM
Hi Michael,
Most of the sample manager messages you got are ok. It said installation was corrupted because you removed your hard drive that had the samples on it, which meant it couldn't find the samples where it expected them to be. The status set to Not Installed is fine, since with the drive gone the samples are in essence no longer installed. You can ignore the message saying you need to delete the files manually, since you said that drive is broken and presumably you won't use it again - there would be no reason to try to keep that drive clean by deleting the samples (which are no longer mapped to the drive due to the Not Installed status).
So what you want to do is run Sample Manager and choose Install. As for installing to a destination folder on a network hard drive, I'd follow Pascal's advice as he is the one who programs the Sample Manager. I haven't personally tried installing to a network hard drive - you may find it harder to get to work than a typical install to a local hard drive or USB/firewire drive. One thing I would suggest is to use your local DVD drive for where you insert the Steinway discs, rather than a networked DVD drive. Keep things simple where you can and just by following common sense, you'll have a better and faster chance of success.

gwhizofto
01-26-2010, 01:25 AM
PascalM,

Thanks. I tried it before and got errors "\\T\... is not accessible"

At your prompting I tried again. It turns out that you cannot have any blank (space) characters in the path or folder name of your mapped drive. If your path does have blanks, you get the "not accessible" error.

Once I made a 'blankless" path, I go the warning "this is a network drive and may suffer from latency", so I decided not to do it.

Kind Regards,
Michael

gwhizofto
01-27-2010, 05:43 AM
Thanks Jeff,

Installing so that the player always loads the sounds from the DVD would be worse latency than from the network drive wouldn't it? Sorry if I'm not understanding your suggestion!

Looks like I'm needing to get an external USB drive for this.

BTW, do you know if anyone has successfully shared a USB drive with the samples on it, so that the drive can be hooked up to a MAC or to a PC? I have Finale on my PC and Logic Pro on my MAC, and would like to use the samples on both systems, ideally without installing them to take up twice the disk space. I have Kontakt 2 on both systems as well.

Kind Regards,
Michael

Jeff Hurchalla
01-28-2010, 04:55 PM
Some people have DVD drives on the network and I was just saying that it may be easier when you install the software to use a local DVD drive attached to your computer. I'm talking about where you insert the garritan steinway discs, not where you install the samples/software. You have to install the samples/software to a hard drive or solid state drive (SSD).

It's possible to share the samples between mac and pc - you'll have to do a normal install on one of the systems complete with the installation of the samples via Sample Manager, then on the other system do a normal install but when sample manager comes up you ask it to "locate" the samples instead of "install" the samples. The hard drive would have to be readable (and may need to also be writable) by both operating systems. This usually means the hard drive has to be FAT32 formatted. NTFS format might (or might not) work if you install on Windows first, but I have never tried it and so I don't know. Alternately if you have bought the software MacDrive for your pc, you could install to a (mac native) HFS+ formatted disc - I have never tried that either so I can't guarantee it would work. I have only shared between PC and mac using a FAT32 formatted drive.