PDA

View Full Version : Steinway's quality in 48kHz project?



karvasika
05-04-2008, 06:17 PM
When I use Steinway in a project that is set to use 48kHz (and Steinway is 44.1kHz), does this somehow distort the pitch or the quality of the Steinway?

Reegs
05-05-2008, 12:25 AM
Aria and/or your DAW should upsample the piano to compensate. You'd notice the samples being *almost* a third out of tune if it didn't.

Best,
Reegs

karvasika
05-05-2008, 08:05 AM
Does this show much in the performance or quality?

Skysaw
05-05-2008, 08:30 AM
Assuming you are using a good sequencer, it should sound pretty wonderful at any reasonable sample rate. I do not think this is a concern at all.

karvasika
05-05-2008, 12:28 PM
I'm sure it is. I was just wondering, because upsampling surely must use SOME CPU, especially at low latencies. Can someone tell if this is something drastical in performance, for example when using Steinway in Live situations - does it really matter if it's 44.1kHz or 48kHz?

Reegs
05-05-2008, 01:21 PM
I'm sure it is. I was just wondering, because upsampling surely must use SOME CPU, especially at low latencies. Can someone tell if this is something drastical in performance, for example when using Steinway in Live situations - does it really matter if it's 44.1kHz or 48kHz?

I doubt you'll see a performance hit until you reach a large number of tracks. It's also possible your sound card processor does the number grinding.

germancomponist
05-05-2008, 04:00 PM
No problem!

For example, if you work with Cubase as I do, you can`t notice any different.
No matter whether you work with 44,1 or 48 kHz. ;)

The most important for the best sound are the bits, not the samplingrate.

Gunther