PDA

View Full Version : Problems S-Converting "Virtuoso Strings"



James Hall
08-05-1999, 04:12 AM
Ilio\'s Virtuoso Strings is a great String Library but unfortunately I have struck problems converting it.

Virtuoso Strings (Akai)comes on 3 CDs and is a great library. I currently have M
Vitous, Denny Jaeger and Synclavier for both my E4 and SCII, but Virtuoso is
the real business and is a major reason I am switching to GS!

I have now batch converted all of the three CDs into
Gigasampler format on my hard drive and have struck two significant
problems.
1. Some of the voices utilise 2 Akai programs with velocity crossfades and I
have used \"Combine to Gig\" to convert them properly. Unfortunately this has
not converted properly and the resultant Gig voice has no velocity zones. I
can enter the patch editor and load the second velocity layer by hand as the
samples have been transfered but it means that the voice may not sound like
the author intended and the transfer from expresive to hard attack is quite
brutal.

2. Some of the voices have converted over with audio gaps in the keyboard.
An inspection with the patch editor reveals that there are indeed samples
mapped to these keys and they appear in the sample list as being there but
they make no sound. Unfortunately this problem afflicts the most usable of
the volumes, namely the 8 violin section, which is a very good sound for
modern pop strings. There are two areas of the keyboard where the sound
disappears. I have tried erasing the afflicted patches and reconverting
individually to no avail.

James Hall
08-05-1999, 04:14 AM
Further to My first message.
1. I have upgraded to Gigasampler 1.6.
2. I still have the problem.
3. I carried out the following test.

I loaded in the Akai program 8VN ESPONLY using S-Convert. This 8 violin voice would be the workhorse string
patch for me (if I could get it to work)!! Just as before the patch played
from G1 (the lowest note on a fiddle) but a hole appeared at the first D
note that was 3 or 4 regions wide then the next region played then another 2
region gap then the patch played fine to the top of the keyboard. I enetered
patch editor and noted that at the D note on the keyboard the sample 058
VNESD#1 -LR was mapped. It had a length in samples so I presumed it to be
there. I erased the region and extended the lower sample VNESC#1 -LR so that
it covered the D note on the keyboard. Voila, sound, albeit tranposed above
it\'s intended range. I reduced the region occupied by VNESC#1 -LR to its
original 2 semitone size leaving a gap in the region map at D and D#. I then
imported the missing sample from the CD Rom as a WAV. file and entered it in
the a new region in the gap in the region map. Still no sound.

I have deduced therefore that the problem is either in the way that
Gigasampler converts some Akai samples in \"Virtuoso Strings\" to Giga format
or that the actual samples on CD Rom are slightly corrupt. As I said before
this patch converted perfectly into a friend\'s Creamware Pulsar. I have
also had no problem so far converting other Akai programs to GS.

The problem seems to occur in only about 10% of the \"Virtuoso Strings\"
library but it seems to be to the most important programs. If itb was
possible to fix using the patch editor I would be happy to persevere as the
library sounds great (When I can hear it). I desperately need help. Any ideas out there?
Regards James Hall

Danny Lux
08-08-1999, 01:31 PM
I have the same problems. I have not put as much time into it as you have, but I believe there are no corrupt samples on your disk. My experience with S Converter is that it is not always 100%. If anyone has the answers I would appreciate it as well.

holger
08-08-1999, 01:40 PM
I converted virtuoso strings too and found a lot of problems. But you all have to know the AKAI converter works in a simple way and has still a lot of problems. Also the structure of complex AKAI and GS programs is different, so a simple conversion will never catch the whole thing! I programmed the Advance Orchestra Library completely new which takes a three months, because it was simply impossible to realize a professional product by simple conversion.

James Hall
08-09-1999, 02:22 AM
Great to hear I\'m not the only one with this problem. If I could work out how to get the raw samples across from the CD Rom it would allow me to repair the voices. Any idea how to do that?

Dave Of NemeSys
08-16-1999, 04:48 PM
To convert raw samples, have you tried the \"import waves\" feature of the S-converter? That will convert the waves and put them in individual folders and keep the micro tuning, the names and the root note (unity note) and the loops. These waves are then ready for the wizard tool in the editor. If this process creates corrupted waves, that would be very unexpected. Let us know if that happens.
Dave

James Hall
08-27-1999, 11:47 PM
Further to my earlier postings.I have tried every way to convert the Akai version of Ilio\'s Virtuoso Strings to my Gigasampler. If I convert to gig, combine to gig (where appropriate) or import WAV files and use the instrument Wizard I still get the same result: missing keygroups in most voices. The F1 keygroup is a consistent missing sound, but usually accompanied by others. If I convert to Wav files and open the WAV files in the sample editor THEY PLAY, but sound a bit grainy. Yet when they are in the gig. instrument they do not make a sound. The problem seems to be a problem with S-Convert not reading the CD properly. As I said \"Creamware Pulsar\" converted them fine (to it\'s own format). Interestingly the library comes with a warning that Emu owners should order the specific Emu edition as the Akai version will not be read properly by the E4. I am desperate to use this library, any ideas from you guys yet? regards James Hall, musician composer, www.soundtrax.co.nz (\"http://www.soundtrax.co.nz\")