PDA

View Full Version : GPO: now for webcomics



Boneweasel
08-02-2004, 02:24 AM
Wow, it has been quite some time since I had the chance to post here. Anyways, I have written some new music for an online comic with GPO and I wanted to get your impression/suggestions:

Green: Episode 3 (www.gutterflycomix.com/ep3.html)

Green is an online multimedia comic that utilizes flash so you will need the macromedia flash plugin to view the episode (it's 2mb file). The third episode is the first time I have used GPO for the comic.

I've recorded a few other things with GPO, but on this project is when I truly realized just how great GPO is. I am one happy customer!

And just so you know here's my computer setup:

Mac 400mhz G4 with 384MB of ram.


Thanks for your time!

Jonny Lost
08-02-2004, 02:56 AM
Gary,


Very Nicely done. You have discovered, quite nicely, hoe effective GPO can be in a dramatic situation. Keep up the great work.


Jonny

Jerry W.
08-02-2004, 03:02 AM
Wow, it has been quite some time since I had the chance to post here. Anyways, I have written some new music for an online comic with GPO and I wanted to get your impression/suggestions:

Green: Episode 3 (www.gutterflycomix.com/ep3.html)

Green is an online multimedia comic that utilizes flash so you will need the macromedia flash plugin to view the episode (it's 2mb file). The third episode is the first time I have used GPO for the comic.

I've recorded a few other things with GPO, but on this project is when I truly realized just how great GPO is. I am one happy customer!

And just so you know here's my computer setup:

Mac 400mhz G4 with 384MB of ram.


Thanks for your time!

Hey Boneweasel

WOW - that IS impressive. You captured the mood of the comic very well with that music - (or should I say, you created that mood?) I noticed some instruments other than GPO in there. What, in addition to the GPO, do you use? As a fellow Mac user, I would really like to know how your setup is.

Thanks for sharing this!

Jerry Wickham
:)

DPDAN
08-02-2004, 04:26 AM
Wow!!! :)

Boneweasel
08-02-2004, 01:39 PM
I noticed some instruments other than GPO in there. What, in addition to the GPO, do you use?



The only other instrument I used other than GPO is an electronic patch from a Roland JV-1080 (the patch is velo-techno).



As a fellow Mac user, I would really like to know how your setup is.


One thing I didn't mention was that I use DP4. Is there anything specific that you would like to know?

Thanks everyone for the kind words!!

Styxx
08-02-2004, 02:26 PM
!!woW ecin yrev -

Sepheritoh
08-02-2004, 02:51 PM
Hi Gary. This is really great stuff. You compose stuff that will go very well with playstation games! (sorry, but I'm a 45 yr old games junky when I'm not making music)

Keep this up.

Hardy Heern
08-02-2004, 05:24 PM
Absolutely, Booldy fantastic. My 27yr old son agreed.....and he was (is!......if he had the time!:) ) a video game person. I think it appealed to his 'Manga' side.....he appreciated the ending.......but HELL.....so did I!!!:) :)

Frank

Keep 'em coming!

Jerry W.
08-02-2004, 06:14 PM
The only other instrument I used other than GPO is an electronic patch from a Roland JV-1080 (the patch is velo-techno).




One thing I didn't mention was that I use DP4. Is there anything specific that you would like to know?

Thanks everyone for the kind words!!
Hey Boneweasel,
Thanks for your reply.
Actually, i was wondering if you were able to keep your sample rate and buffer size at default with the hardware you have.
I have a faster mac with more ram and have to do that. The only way i can see of NOT having to do that would be to record each track as an AUDIO track in DP, rather than as midi tracks playing from DP through the GPO Studio.
What did you do?

Thanks again for replying - i am curious to know how other Mac users get the results they do.

Jerry Wickham :)

Garritan
08-02-2004, 08:26 PM
Boneweasel,

This was most thrilling and entertaining. What a great job you have done. The music fits the comic book scenes perfectly from beginning to end. I never experienced a online multimedia comic before and the music matched perfectly what's being read. What a cool experience!

Thank you very much for posting this. It's great seeing GPO used in innovative ways. I hope you don't mind if I link to this on the GPO Demo page.

Gary Garritan

Boneweasel
08-02-2004, 09:58 PM
The only way i can see of NOT having to do that would be to record each track as an AUDIO track in DP, rather than as midi tracks playing from DP through the GPO Studio.
What did you do?

That's EXACTLY how I do it. I can usually get an entire string section to load without many problems unless it's a really technical passage. But even so, I prefer to record each instrument as a separate audio track because it gives me more control of the final mix.

The biggest problem I have doing this though is that by the time I'm close to finishing recording all the audio tracks on a large orchestral piece, it really begins to slow down my system. As a result, on a longer piece, I'll sometimes do the piece in two separate sections (in two separate performer files), then splice the end result together.




This was most thrilling and entertaining. What a great job you have done. The music fits the comic book scenes perfectly from beginning to end. I never experienced a online multimedia comic before and the music matched perfectly what's being read. What a cool experience!

Thank you very much for posting this. It's great seeing GPO used in innovative ways. I hope you don't mind if I link to this on the GPO Demo page.

Gary Garritan


WOW! Thanks for the kind words. And I definitely don't mind if you link to it on the GPO demo page! :)

bmonroney
08-03-2004, 03:40 AM
That's EXACTLY how I do it. I can usually get an entire string section to load without many problems unless it's a really technical passage. But even so, I prefer to record each instrument as a separate audio track because it gives me more control of the final mix.

Outstanding work. I'm very impressed.

I use DP as well, usually load GPO sounds in full version of Kontakt. Are you using DP4's Freeze function? it works pretty well, just takes a bit of getting used to...select all the relevant MIDI tracks and the Intrument track you want to render to audio, then select the Freeze command. It has to run in real-time for virtual instrument tracks, so it doesn't really save much time but it eliminates several manual steps normally required when bouncing VI tracks to audio. I tend to work section by section (strings, woodwinds, brass, percussion, then stuff like piano/harp/synths individually), freezing as I go, using a low-cpu lofi reverb while I'm programming, then switching to Altiverb once the tracks are all rendered to audio.

Brian