View Full Version : Sonic Mayhem Produces T3 Remix

His Frogness
12-04-2003, 02:10 PM
weird. The link doesn\'t work but if I copy and paste it into the address bar it works.

That\'s awesome stuff.

I would have liked to have heard a more elaborate use of the sampler. After hearing what BT can do with a sampler, this leaves a bit, not much, but a bit to be desired.

12-04-2003, 03:24 PM
Hey, thanks for checking it out.

Im curious. What u mean when u say sampler?

YOu also have to understand that with game producer you cannot go overboard on the editing.

If i had all the freedom i\'d want, it be much nastier and crazier. images/icons/wink.gif

His Frogness
12-04-2003, 07:36 PM
Wow I didn\'t know you did this, I thought you just liked it and linked to it. images/icons/smile.gif

Well when I say that it leaves a bit to be desired when compared to BT, that\'s kind of like saying that your composition skills are almost as good as Mozart...ALMOST!!!! So I wasn\'t dissin it. I think it\'s really well done graemlins/tounge_images/icons/smile.gif

Could you elaborate as to how you compiled it all? What equipment did you use to produce, mix and master it all?

When you say you were limited by game producer did you mean a program called Game Producer or did you mean the producer of the game you worked on didn\'t let you get crazy with it?

When I said sampler I just figured you used something like Halion, Reason, or some software sampler like those as a plug in for Cubase and played them that way. If you didn\'t use a sampler, did you just edit it all in Pro Tools or something?

Sorry for the confusion

12-04-2003, 08:30 PM
images/icons/smile.gif Its all good.

well its kinda ironic that i also did a remix of BT\'s next single. But lets keep that still \"hush hush\", ok? images/icons/wink.gif

But yes i meant the producer of the game. Since its a interlectual property there are just picky.

In the original version i did, there were tons of cool edits, more \'mechanical sounds\' and more guitars. But i had to strip down a lot to make it more to the liking of the producers. Sucks but thats life. Also keep in mind that when you play the game with it, its just a different story.

and yes, i do use samplers. I use Kontakt and Cubase SX. For Mastering i usually use Ozone 2.
Some of the big drums sounds are coming from Kontakt and a lot of the sounds are custom made.
I used a our own (shamless plug)sample cd \"called Noize loops:toxic textures\" for the ambient beds in the background. images/icons/wink.gif

You can check it outat www.noizeloops.com (\"http://www.noizeloops.com\")

thanks for the feedback tho.

12-05-2003, 12:57 AM
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Sonic Mayhem Produces T3 Remix

Sonic Mayhem has produced a remix of the Terminator®2 theme that is featured in
Atari\'s new game, \"Terminator®3: War of the MachinesT\". \"The original theme is a great composition and I loved the challenge of making it darker and more intense to match the ominous vision of the future portrayed in the
Terminator® series.\"

Atari shipped \"Terminator®3: War of the MachinesT\" today to retail stores for the
personal computer, a single-player and online multiplayer first-person shooter set in
the ravaged battlefields of the Tech Com-versus-SkyNet conflict.

To hear a sample of the remix, go to http://www.sonicmayhem.com/t3remix.mp3 (\"http://www.sonicmayhem.com/t3remix.mp3\")

(link works now)

For more about Sascha Dikiciyan and Sonic Mayhem, visit
http://www.sonicmayhem.com (\"http://www.sonicmayhem.com\")

12-05-2003, 10:59 AM
Great stuff. I\'ve been a quiet fan of Sonic Mayhem since I first heard your Bond arrangements. Keep it up.

His Frogness
12-05-2003, 11:29 AM
Thanks for clearing that up Buzz images/icons/smile.gif

(Homer Simpson-like): stupid producers.

So did you use Kontakt to actually play the samples of the core from the movie?

I\'ve tried to do some BT type stuff. There\'s just so much editing. I still wonder how he does some of the edits. Like you\'ll hear a certain track start to skip at 16th notes (like a CD player) but then it will move to all the tracks and you\'ll hear every track skip like that. I\'ve never played with those CD scratchers but it seems impossible to use a scratcher globally for all the tracks without first rendering a stereo file of all the tracks that are playing. Does he just render out certain parts of the arangement as stereo and them play those bits in something like Kontakt? How do you do it Buzz?

12-05-2003, 02:32 PM
Hey Chris, thanks for the kind words. Yeah the Bond stuff was a lot of fun. Wish i couldve scored the new one.

Reg BT edits: Well are you talking about \'stutter\' edits? Lets say you take a kick and copy it in 32notes and end with a 64 not 1 bar fill? I know that Brian uses a lot of Kyma for his stuff. All those edits you hear are made by hand in Logic. Hes nuts, thats for sure.

But a lot of game producers dont \'get\' extreme edits. Simple is the key. Im glad i got away with what i did for T3.

And no, those samples you hear are not \'stolen\' from the movie. I just tried to get the same kind of \"larger then life\' sound.

His Frogness
12-05-2003, 03:40 PM
Originally posted by Buzzfunk:

Reg BT edits: Well are you talking about \'stutter\' edits? Lets say you take a kick and copy it in 32notes and end with a 64 not 1 bar fill? <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">Yeah that\'s what I was talking about.

Originally posted by Buzzfunk:
I know that Brian uses a lot of Kyma for his stuff. All those edits you hear are made by hand in Logic. Hes nuts, thats for sure. <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">Kyma huh? I\'ll have to check that out. Thanks for the all the info.

After listening to it some more I\'ve changed my mind. It\'s actually right up there with BT, IMO images/icons/smile.gif

I\'d love to know more about how you did those quick slices. It seemed like copying and pasting a .wav in an arrangement window was too tedious, especially pre-SX (I use Cubase) where the closest you could snap was 16th notes. I guess that\'s changed and you can snap to 64th notes if I remember right.

Sometimes I hear in BT it sounds like he\'ll stutter the middle of a sample, or even the end of a sample. When I tried to do that by cropping and pasting a .wav, I\'d end up with a bunch of clicks (like a cd skip) and it didn\'t sound nearly as smooth as BT. I figured Cubase couldn\'t crossfade that quick when you\'re dealing with 32nd or 64th notes. How do you get around that?

Thanks in advance images/icons/smile.gif

12-05-2003, 08:03 PM
well there are many ways of doing the \'stutters\'.

One easy way is using Acid 4.0. Its chopper feature lets you chop and paste with ease in whatever note length you want.

I do all my edits in cubase sx2.0 by hand. After zooming in on a 4 bar loop i set the grid to 32notes and go all the way up to 128th notes edits. The pops you get cause there no autofade at the end of the slices. What i do is i usally select em all and just move the volume bar at the end a little bit to the left. Kinda like a fade out. On a current track im working on i have more then 1,000 single edits..sometimes each slice is being procecced as well. Its tidious work. I love it.

I also produce dance music, breaks and progressive. My artist name is Toksin. Check out www.toksin.com. (\"http://www.toksin.com.\") Totally different sound then that T3 remix. But much bigger production. The BT remix isnt up cause its going to be released. images/icons/wink.gif

His Frogness
12-07-2003, 12:55 AM
I checked those other tunes out. Great work. I actually like the T3 remix more than Precious Dreams but it\'s still really nice. Sounds like you\'re well on your way to stardom graemlins/tounge_images/icons/smile.gif

So you had mentioned that with these 64th and 128th note slices, sometimes they get processed too. So I take it is it\'s an effect that only occurs every now and then you\'ll burn it right on to the .wav as opposed to loading the effect in the sends? Are you\'re sends usually packed with effects? What are some of your favorite plug-ins?

Thanks for answering all these questions. I\'ve always wanted to pick the brains of someone who did really good electronic music, and you happen to be that brain! images/icons/smile.gif

12-08-2003, 06:51 PM
Great stuff, Sascha. Sounds like you\'re using Kyma as well!?
Out of curiosity, can you explain how you get those guitar sounds? Are they samples? If they are live, how do you distort them? It sounds good, that\'s why I\'m asking.
-Jamey Scott

12-08-2003, 09:35 PM
Hey Jamey, glad you like it!!

Well the guitars are indeed real.

I record the guitars through an Focusrite preamp --&gt; computer. I then ran them through Kyma and later messed with them in Cubase. As you can hear i like to chop up the attack and release! It kinda gives it that mechanical, staccato sound.

Thats pretty much it. The kyma editing was not too much. I just wanted to make it half real half synthy. Hopefully i will be able to post all the cues i did soon.

thanks again

12-09-2003, 03:57 PM
Thanks for the repsonse, Sascha. So, you\'re getting your distortion from the focusrite, or are you recording clean and distorting with some sort of plugin? or perhaps via Kyma? I\'ve been using AmplitubeTDM lately and I\'m not really digging the results too much.
I\'d love to swing by your crib sometime and check out that Kyma system. I\'ve been interested in it for a long time but I\'ve never had any hands on experiece with it so I\'ve never been inspired to jump in. It\'s too expensive to jump in unseen. Shoot me an email if you\'d be cool with me swinging by.

His Frogness
12-09-2003, 04:01 PM
I took a look at the Kyma website, but can\'t find anywhere to buy it. What\'s the deal?

12-12-2003, 05:41 PM
You can only buy Kyma from the symbolic folks directly.

Also note that theres a pretty steep learning curve. Reaktor 4 can get a lot of the same stuff done then Kyma. Of course the cool realtime morphing and granular systhesis is better on Kyma.

The guitar pedal was a hyper fuzz one. From there we go into the Focusrite preamp. Like i said before the editing makes it sound a lot like a sample. And if you wanna swing by drop me a PM.


12-13-2003, 02:20 PM
Nice piece of music! images/icons/smile.gif

They make you search a bit for the kyma price.
Way out of my price range at this point. images/icons/shocked.gif

Frogness: It might not do exactly what you\'re looking for, but on this page you\'ll find a cool little plugin that does sort of a stuttering effect:
(As you might notice from the link name.. it\'s the one called \'Skidder\') images/icons/smile.gif
DFX Skidder (\"http://www.smartelectronix.com/users/destroyfx/\")

12-21-2003, 12:49 AM
hey buzzfunk,

cool track...very sinister and dark.
like it!!

btw: are you also at soundbee forum ?? or are you another buzzfunk images/icons/smile.gif

12-21-2003, 03:38 PM
hmmm different buzzfunk. Odd. Ive been using that name since te doom days(`93).

Glad u like the track.